The law regarding motorcycle insurance in Florida is different from other U.S. states. Moreover, it is different from the laws that require insurance for drivers of automobiles. Simply put, motorcycle insurance law is different from car insurance law in Florida. Owing to this difference, there is a lot of confusion among motorcyclists whether they require a motorcycle insurance or not in the state of Florida.
To be precise, if you ride a motorcycle in Florida, the Financial Responsibility Law here requires you to furnish some proof of financial liability. If you are in an accident and can’t provide proof of insurance or a certificate of self-insurance, you can face serious consequences such as loss of driver’s license, vehicle registration, and even criminal penalties in certain situations. Keep reading to know more about motorcycle insurance law in Florida.
Motorcycle Insurance Law vs. Car Insurance Law in Florida
While motorcycle and car insurance laws are the same in many states, they differ hugely in Florida. One key difference is that car drivers in this state must bear Personal Injury Protection (PIP), which covers lost wages and medical costs, irrespective of the party at fault in the accident. However, PIP-related laws are not applicable to motorcycle riders. Car owners can consult with their motorcycle accident attorney in Cocoa Beach, FL if you want to dig deep.
Although some companies do offer PIP insurance for motorcycles, which is similar to PIP Insurance for cars, it is not governed by Florida law – simply because PIP is not mandatory for motorcyclists in the state. However, just because Florida’s PIP law does not govern motorcyclists, that does not mean insurance is not required. Furthermore, unlike in the case of injuries due to car accidents, the motorcyclist doesn’t require showing a permanent injury after the accident to compensate for suffering and pain.
Furnishing Proof of Financial Liability
Another major point of difference is that motorcycle insurance law in Florida doesn’t require motorcycle owners to have motorcycle insurance to register their motorcycles, unlike the registration laws for cars and trucks, etc. Unlike car owners, who are legally bound to provide proof of financial responsibility while registering their automobiles, motorcycle owners can get their vehicle registered without furnishing the proof of motorcycle insurance. Herein lies the confusion. Because although no proof of insurance is required to register one’s motorcycle, if a motorcyclist is involved in an accident and doesn’t have insurance or a certificate on self-insurance, they can face serious consequences. Failure to provide proof of financial liability may lead to having your motorcycle license and registration suspended, or have your motorcycle license cancelled altogether. You may even require paying extra fees to restore your privileges of riding a motorcycle legally.
Meeting the Requirement of Proof of Financial Liability
The easiest way to fulfill the proof of financial responsibility requirement for motorcyclists is to have motorcycle insurance. The insurance policy must be purchased from an insurer carrying the license to do business in Florida.
While a licensed insurance agent can offer information on various insurance options, the minimum requirements for motorcycle insurance in the state are as follows:
• $10,000 for a single person’s bodily injury liability
• $20,000 for 2 or more people’s bodily injury liability
• $10,000 each crash for property damage liability
Additionally, there is one more way to furnish financial liability for motorcyclists – getting a “self-insurance certificate” from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility. This is based on the net worth of your total assets. In case you meet with an accident, it will serve as a means to cover for your injury or property loss due to the accident.
A copy of either motorcycle insurance or a self-insurance certificate should be kept handy all the time while riding a motorbike. This is because, if you are involved in an accident, you will be needed to provide it at the scene.
Tip: In the event of an accident, it is strongly recommended to call your Florida motorcycle accident attorney as soon as possible.
Florida Motorcycle Insurance and No-Fault Laws
The Florida no-fault accident laws benefit motorists in the state, but doesn’t allow them to receive compensation from the driver at fault; except in some specific cases of severe injuries. The law is, however, not applicable to motorcyclists.
In order to be compensated for medical costs, wage loss, loss of earning potential, pain and suffering, mental anguish, and other types of losses, the motorcyclist should approach the driver and his automobile insurer with the help of a seasoned Florida motorcycle accident attorney.
While this law gives motorcycle riders the legal right to seek more compensation than what is allowed from motor vehicle drivers in Florida, the whole process of proving the fault of the party responsible for the accident can be time consuming and frustrating. Hence, it is always recommended to hire a motorcycle accident attorney in Cocoa Beach, FL to represent your case.